- Worldstart's Tech Tips And Computer Help - http://www.worldstart.com -

Facebook Graph Warning: Is It True?

Posted By cynthia On May 29, 2013 @ 11:00 AM In Social Networking,Using The Internet | Comments Disabled

Susan from Ohio writes:

I just got this on Facebook. Is it true? Will it work?

“FACEBOOK HAS CHANGED THEIR PRIVACY SETTINGS ONCE MORE!!! DUE TO THE NEW GRAPH APP ANYONE ON FACEBOOK (INCLUDING OTHER COUNTRIES) CAN SEE YOUR PICTURES, LIKES, AND COMMENTS. The next 2 weeks I will be posting this, and please once you have done it please post DONE! Those of you who do not keep my information from going out to the public, I will have to DELETE YOU! I want to stay PRIVATELY connected with you. I post shots of my family that I don’t want strangers to have access to!!! This happens when our friends click “like” or “comment” automatically, their friends would see our posts too. Unfortunately, we cannot change this setting by ourselves because Facebook has configured it that way, PLEASE place your mouse over my name above (DO NOT CLICK), a window will appear, now move the mouse on FRIENDS (also without clicking) then down to “Settings”, click here and a list will appear. REMOVE the CHECK on LIFE EVENTS” and COMMENTS & LIKES. By doing this, my activity among my friends and family  will no longer become public. Now copy and past this on your wall. Once I see this posted on your page, I will do the same.”

Well, this isn’t accurate and really doesn’t have anything to do with Graph Search. Graph Search is just another function on Facebook, it doesn’t change any of your privacy settings. You still have the same control over who sees what your post that you had before Graph Search.  Also, those instructions don’t affect who sees your posts, only whether or not you see notifications.  You’re jut blocking updates from your friends. And it’s ridiculously time consuming, if you have a lot of friends.

Here’s how to control who sees what on your Facebook page.  Click the little gear to the right for the Settings drop-down menu and choose Privacy Settings:

Under Who can see my stuff, you’ll want to click Edit:

 

There you can choose options of Public, Friends or make custom settings.

You can also learn more about Facebook privacy settings by clicking on this article [1]or this one [2].

And also keep in mind that any dire security warning posted in all caps in a Facebook status is probably wrong. So why do they get posted in the first place? Sometimes someone is just genuinely mistaken about how the security settings work and other times, they’re just playing a prank. They want to see how many people they can get to share the false information. 

~ Cynthia


Article printed from Worldstart's Tech Tips And Computer Help: http://www.worldstart.com

URL to article: http://www.worldstart.com/facebook-graph-warning-is-it-true/

URLs in this post:

[1] article : http://www.worldstart.com/invisible-facebooking-pt-1-amping-up-social-media-privacy/

[2] one: http://www.worldstart.com/invisible-facebooking-pt-2-timeline-privacy-tagging-control/