- Worldstart's Tech Tips And Computer Help - http://www.worldstart.com -

How To Change Your Delete Confirmation Settings.

Posted By adam On August 27, 2010 @ 1:55 PM In Desktop Enhancement,File & Disk Management | Comments Disabled

Rachel asks:

I went to delete a file the other day and it just deleted the file without asking! Do you know why it would do this?

Hi, Rachel! I had that happen to me once and I thought I had lost the file; I about had a heart attack.

Somehow your settings got changed (I never did find out how mine did). Here’s how to get the right settings back:

First, right-click on your Recycle Bin and left-click Properties.

image

Your Recycle Bin Properties box will pop up; it is multi-tabbed; each tab is for each hard drive you have in your computer. There is one tab that is all-inclusive, and that is the Global tab. Click on that. Note: In Windows 7, this tab isĀ labeledĀ General.

If you look at the box, you will see Display delete confirmation dialog at the bottom with a box next to it; click on the box to put a check mark in it. Then click on Apply, and then click on OK.

image

And that’s it! Next time you delete a file, you can make sure that you want to!

Thanks for writing!

~Lori Cline


Article printed from Worldstart's Tech Tips And Computer Help: http://www.worldstart.com

URL to article: http://www.worldstart.com/how-to-change-your-delete-confirmation-settings/