Ron from OR asks:
Okay, I’ve had enough of Facebook, but I don’t necessarily want to delete my account altogether – what are my options?
Have you tried Facebook and found it just wasn’t for you? Maybe you are concerned about your privacy and no longer want an account? Or do you feel you’re become a Facebook addict and want to take a break?
There are many reasons that you may want to stop using your Facebook, but did you know that you have the option to either deactivate or delete your account? Let’s explore the differences between the two.
When you deactivate your Facebook account, all of your information (photos, wall posts, friends) vanish instantly. Your friends cannot view your profile, and strangers cannot search for you. Friends can still tag you in images, and invite you to events, however. Deactivation is a temporary action, because Facebook saves your profile exactly as it is when you deactivate. If you choose to reactivate your account, your profile will re-appear just as you left it.
To deactivate your account, select Account followed by Account Settings from the Facebook menu.
Next, on the left hand side, select the Security tab.
Click Deactivate my account.
When you scroll down, you will see that Facebook requires you to choose a reason for deactivation, and also allows you to opt out of its emails. Click Confirm and enter your password, and the process is complete!
To reactivate your account, simply log in using your email address and password. It’s that easy!
When you delete your Facebook account, all of your information is permanently removed from Facebook’s database. Choose this option if you are certain that you no longer want a Facebook account.
Facebook inconveniently does not include a button or link to delete your account in Account Settings. You must use this link. You could also find this link by searching “delete my account” in the Facebook Help Center.
When you first click the link, Facebook will warn you that this action is permanent and that you cannot reactivate. Continue on with the process by clicking Submit.
Next, enter your password, and complete a CAPTCHA, and click Okay.
Now, a message will appear containing some very important information. Even after permanently deleting your account, Facebook allows you 14 days to cancel this deletion and continue using your account. This is good in case you change your mind within two weeks, and decide to keep your account.
If you do try to log in within two weeks of deleting your account, this is what you’ll see:
From here you can Confirm Deletion or Cancel Deletion.
I hope you learned a great deal today. If you ever want to deactivate or delete your Facebook account, now you know how!
~ Jay Neil Patel