- Worldstart's Tech Tips And Computer Help - http://www.worldstart.com -

Run vs. Save

Posted By admin On July 16, 2005 @ 1:53 PM In File & Disk Management,Using The Internet | No Comments

Timothy in Arkansas asks:
What’s the difference between “run” and “save” when I download a program?


A:
When you are downloading a file off the internet you may get the option to “Run” or “Save”. Either of these options will lead you to the setup for the program and install it on your computer, but the difference lies in where the setup file opens from.

image

If you click “Save” you can specify where the setup file goes (Downloads or the desktop). From there you could put it on a disk just in case you need to reinstall it or want to put it on another computer.

By choosing “Run” the setup process starts once the setup file is downloaded to your temporary internet file. When you empty your temp file the setup download goes away. This is great if you aren’t a download packrat, but you should be clearing out your temp files often or they can get clogged with downloads.

Me? I usually download to my Desktop then delete after install or save to a Downloads folder or send to a disk.

P.S. If you have Win XP or newer and the file is zipped (.zip extension) you will get the option to “Save” or “Open” the folder.

~David


Article printed from Worldstart's Tech Tips And Computer Help: http://www.worldstart.com

URL to article: http://www.worldstart.com/run-vs-save/