- Worldstart's Tech Tips And Computer Help - http://www.worldstart.com -
Using the New Facebook Pt. 2
Posted By shaytoonak On November 24, 2011 @ 1:02 PM In Social Networking | No Comments
Hello Worldstart users! Last time, I promised you we would go over the security settings and options on Facebook. Now that Facebook has changed YET again…it looks like we have more to cover! If you didn’t get to read the first part to this article, check out: http://www.worldstart.com/using-the-new-facebook-pt-1/ .
Let’s first discuss how to manage your security settings on Facebook. Once you are signed in and on your homepage, you will see a down arrow tab located in the upper right-hand corner of the page, next to the tabs that have your name and “Home.” If you click on this down arrow tab, you can access your: Account Settings, Privacy Settings, Log Out, or Help Center. Click on Privacy Settings.
Controlling your privacy is a bit more complicated than it used to be with Facebook, but on the other hand, there are more options at your disposal. First, you can control the level of privacy of the posts you personally make. Under this subheading, Facebook lets you edit your profile and/or learn more about the new layout of Facebook. Unless you specifically restrict certain people from seeing your photos, the pictures and posts you make including other people (if you tag another person or persons) will appear on those said people’s pages, and then THEIR friends can also see the photos and posts. For example, if you post a picture of you and your best friend, your best friend’s friends will be able to see this picture under her tagged photos. It gets a bit complicated because this not only depends on YOUR privacy settings, but also on the privacy settings of your friends. So use caution if you are posting things you only want certain people to see – and you can restrict this as well (more on this later).
The next subheading has to do with controlling your default privacy, which encompasses the posts you make such as status updates and the photos you post online. These posts can be either public, shared with all of your friends, or custom. Personally, I use the custom setting because I have some photo albums that I share with my family and others with my friends. You can edit this on each photo album or even each photo and post you put on Facebook, just as mentioned above.
Next, you can edit “How You Connect,” which essentially breaks down into who can search for you on Facebook, who can message you, who can write on your wall, etc. Based on your personal preferences, you can choose and select what you want for each of these options. Maximum Profile Visibility refers to all your tagged photos (photos tagged by yourself and others) being visible to your friends on Facebook. If you want to be the only one to see your tagged pictures, click on Custom and select “Only Me” as your option.
Next, you can edit your privacy settings on Facebook’s apps and websites, and whether you want these apps and websites to be able to access your profile and information. You can also limit the audience for past posts you have made, meaning you can limit them to only your friends if they were previously made public. The final category is blocked people and apps. This will let you view and manage any Facebook users and applications that you have blocked in the past. You can un-block any if you wish to do so or add to the list accordingly. If you block another Facebook user, he or she will not be able to locate your profile anymore or contact you via Facebook.
So earlier I mentioned that Facebook allows you to restrict specific posts, photo albums, and even a single picture if you so wish. Let’s go over how to do this on the new Facebook format. Go to your profile page. I will first show you how to do this with a status update and then with a picture, and this same concept will apply to everything else. If you want to update your status, click on update status in the top center of your profile page (under your name and basic info listed at the top of the page). There are four little icons located on the bottom of the text box in which you can type in your status update. The first one on the bottom left lets you tag any of your friends you wish to mention in your status (or who you are with if you are doing “Check-In”). The second icon lets you enter where you are posting from, i.e. Sacramento, California. Or if you want to do a “Check-In,” In-N-Out Burger, for example. The third icon, which is located on the bottom right hand of the box, lets you select who you want this post to be visible to–whether that be public, your friends, only you or another custom setting, or a specific list of friends. The fourth and final icon is the “Post” button.
For a second example, let’s say you have uploaded a picture from your phone, and it is now under your Mobile Uploads. If for some reason, you wish to change the visibility of this photo to only certain people on your Friends’ list (or friends only if it is public), look at the bottom right hand corner of the picture. First, it will say the Album Name, and right underneath that, there is a little tools icon next to “Share with.” If you click on this, you can edit who can see this photo.
I hope this helps! There is still more to cover on the new and updated Facebook, so tune in next time!
Article printed from Worldstart's Tech Tips And Computer Help: http://www.worldstart.com
URL to article: http://www.worldstart.com/using-the-new-facebook-pt-2/
URLs in this post:
 http://www.worldstart.com/using-the-new-facebook-pt-1/: http://www.worldstart.com/using-the-new-facebook-pt-1/